Knowledge based assessment


The full MRCP(UK) Diploma, consisting of Part 1, Part 2 Written and Part 2 Clinical (PACES), is the knowledge based assessment for Core Medical Training (CMT) and has been mapped to the CMT curriculum for this purpose.

Possession of the full MRCP(UK) Diploma is a mandatory requirement for ST3 entry into any of the medical (physicianly) specialties. If you are a candidate expecting confirmation of any MRCP(UK) examination results in time for applying to ST3 posts then please to refer to the MRCP(UK) website for information about result release dates and entry requirements.


The MRCP(UK) Part 2 Clinical Examination (PACES) is designed to test the clinical knowledge and skills of trainee doctors who hope to enter higher specialist training (ST3). The exam sets rigorous standards to ensure that trainees are competent across a range of skills and ready to provide a high standard of care to patients. More information about PACES is available on the MRCP(UK) website.

MRCP(UK) examinations results in ePortfolio

Examination outcomes for the Federation of Royal Colleges of Physicians MRCP(UK) Examination and Specialty Certificate Examinations are published in the ePortfolio. Results will be uploaded as soon as they have been confirmed to candidates. Trainees are encouraged to discuss their results with their educational supervisor.

Alternative qualifications to MRCP(UK) for entry to medical specialty training programmes

Alternative qualifications to the MRCP(UK) are accepted by some specialties and are stipulated in the relevant person specification. Please refer to ST3 recruitment website for further information.

Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCE)


A specialty certificate examination (SCE) is now a mandatory component of assessment for a CCT for UK trainees who began specialist training on or after 1 August 2007 (1 August 2009 for Acute Internal Medicine) in one of the following specialties:

  • Acute (Internal) Medicine
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology & Diabetes
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Medical Oncology
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Rheumatology

Further information about SCEs, including application processes and exam dates, is available on the MRCP(UK) website. Information on post-nominals is provided in the certification section of this website.

European specialty exams

From January 2018 the Specialty Certificate Examination (SCE) in Gastroenterology and the European Section and Board of Gastroenterology and Hepatology Examination (ESBGHE), will become a single examination which will be referred to as the European Specialty Examination in Gastroenterology and Hepatology (ESEGH).
In the UK, the examination continues to be the General Medical Council (GMC), approved mandatory summative assessment of knowledge for trainees in Gastroenterology and Hepatology.

Other methods of knowledge assessment

Please note that many specialties, including Haematology, Genitourinary Medicine, Audio vestibular Medicine, Cardiology and Immunology do not have an SCE and use alternative forms of Knowledge Based Assessment. A number of smaller specialties are also piloting the use of a KBA. Please refer to the curriculum for the relevant specialty on our website for details.